Book Review: Swamp Bottom Novellas by Cora Kenborn and K.A. Ware

Hi there! Today I’m going to review not one, but three books. They’re novellas, so they are quite short, but they are in sequence so they should be read from the 1st to the last to understand the story. Each novella is published every 6 week or so. It is a  story with very funny scenes and characters that also has a lot of romance in it, and it is a romantic comedy, ideal for a light read. Plus, the authors are a guarantee. I’ve already reviewed books by Cora Kenborn and you know how much I’ve loved them, but I’ll try to read other books by K.A. Ware as well. 🙂
Genre: Romantic Comedy, Novella
Publication Year: 2017
Part of a series?: Yes, Book 1 of 3
You can buy it HERE from Amazon.com

Book #1: “Front Porches and Funerals”
This is where it all starts. It is told from the point of view of two sisters, Adelaide and Savannah Dubois. Addie is the older sister. She left her hometown, Terrebonne Parish, to live in Shreveport with her chauvinistic husband. When her grandfather dies, she gets back to the swamp (hence the title of the series) and this return is like a fresh start for her. Savannah, also called “Savvy”, is the younger sister. She is a free spirit and wandered around the country a lot until the sad event brings her back to her hometown.

You can tell how much of the two authors is there in their characters. At the beginning of the book, there’s a premise where K. A. Ware and Cora Kenborn tell you how did this series was born, and I don’t know if I’m right, but Adelaide is Cora Kenborn’s alterego and Savannah is K.A. Ware’s. The characters are complex but light at the same time. They are realistic, the women especially try to always stand up for themselves despite the male-oriented society (and South society) they live in. There’s so much funny banter between the characters and especially the sisters and their grandma Babs, who, in my opinion, is the grandma everyone should have! Haha. The male characters are also interesting. There’s Zep “Zephirin” (I didn’t know this name existed! lol) who is Adelaide’s old high school freenemy. We still don’t know exactly what happened between them that makes their blood boil just being in the same room, but I suspect something romantic like he cheating on her or an ultimatum, because Addie left town not so long after she finished school. The other guy, Pope, who is a cop, is Savannah’s love interest. We don’t know much about him besides his job, and I think there’s more to the guy.

The book ends with a cliffhanger and it plants the premises of the future storylines, so I needed to read what happened next. But since it’s the beginning and some storylines are yet to develop, I gave it 4.5 stars.

Book #2: “Voodoo and Vodka”
We were left with a cliffhanger in the first novella. The Dubois sisters were about to start a new adventure in New Orleans, and they were trying to reinvent themselves, especially Adelaide.

A lot happened in this book, especially on Addie’s side. I love her POV more than I love Savvy’s, but I guess because her story is faster than her sister’s, she already has a love interest she’s had history with, but they need to figure things out. In this book Zep and Addie get closer and have some important talks, that will lead to some events even a clairvoyant can’t predict.

We’ll see what will happen to Savvy. She’s currently trying to be with Pope, and everything seems great but she doesn’t know where they stand. I imagine there is something that he’s not telling, since we don’t know what happened in his life before the girls met him.

In this book we see new sides of Addie and Savannah and they keep on growing and learning from their past, but I guess they still have to find their path in the romance department. I loved Zep and Addie’s UST, we will see if they will seal the deal sooner or later.

Book #3: “Hook-ups and Hang-ups”
And here we are again! After the shocking cliffhanger at the end of “Voodoo and Vodka”, we find out what happened with Addie and how she deals with the outcome.

Adelaide and Savannah engage in new adventures that lead them in places they never thought they’d want to be again. As Addie and Zep get closer, she needs to face her demons head on because it is stupid for her to run away now. I understand her, though. Addie has been through a lot. First she was “damaged” by Zep in high school and this left her heartbroken, then she married Roland “I’m such a douche” from Shreveport and signed the deal to end her life. For ten years, she’s lived a boring and fake life she thought was what she needed to get over her past lover, but she’s now realizing that she made a mistake. On the other hand, free-spirited Savannah is getting to know Pope better and finds some interesting things… Perhaps only his surname is holy, lol.

I’ve read the three novellas one after another so I didn’t have to wait, and what a journey! I think they are very cute, funny, and with interesting characters. This 3rd novella is the one I liked the most, perhaps because of Addie and Zep. I think Addie is my favorite sister because she’s so much like me, and I wish she’d not overthink stuff too much because she deserves her happy ending. Zep is that kind of man with the beard of your dreams. He may look like a jerk, but he is not. Ugh, I have so many feelings for them!

As usual like in the previous novellas, the dialogue was both funny and witty. I love Babs, I love Bam-Bam (the name couldn’t be more perfect haha) and they are very unique and make you laugh until you cry, lol. Can’t wait to see what happens in the next book!

RATING: 5/5 stars

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Swamp Bottom Novellas by Cora Kenborn and K.A. Ware

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Blue Lights and Boatmen by Cora Kenborn and K.A. Ware – purplebass world – reviews

Leave a Reply

