Book Review: Vein of Love by R. Scarlett

OMG. A few months ago I bought this book because it had quite an interesting cover and blurb, but I only started reading it on Easter and WOW. This was exactly what I’ve been looking for. “Vein of Love” is the first book of the Blackest Gold saga, a paranormal romance and urban fantasy series set in New York by author R. Scarlett. You can read it as a standalone, although it leaves a lot of questions unanswered at the end and I’m sure you’ll want to know more about the characters and their stories once you’ve reached the last page.

Genre: Paranormal Romance, New Adult, Urban Fantasy
Publication Year: 2016
Pages: 392 (Kindle)
Part of a series?: Yes, Book 1 of 4
You can buy it HERE from Amazon.com

On every birthday, Molly Darling fears that the shadows that loom in the darkness will catch her and dispose of her because she is a daemon with great powers and she’s the only one of this kind.  She was promised to a demon centuries ago and his family has been protecting hers in preparation for the day that she would be born and would be able to use her full powers. Tensley Knight is the heir of a powerful demon fortune and he will have to mark and marry Molly and produce an heir, if he wants to fullfil his family’s wishes. When Molly and Tensley meet, they realize that it will be hard to be together, but they can’t deny that there’s something that could benefit both in this relationship…

Molly lives in the Upper East Side. She’s an intern in a museum, and she dreams of working in this field. She is 19 but she is still very innocent compared to her UESers friends, still obsessed with her first love and she fears to be judged because of her daemonic eyes. I had a love-hate relationship with her because she is ambiguous as a character. She’s very naive, shy, and indecisive, and at times I asked myself how could she be so stupid, but I understand that is the good nature of her heart that makes her act like this. At first I thought she’d be a damsel in distress, but I was wrong. Despite showing some traits, she is unsure yet she is also strong, and she evolves through the pages. I really liked her cute and sweet side when she dealt with Tensley, she was pure like a child but not annoying.

Tensley is the upper-middle-class demon who is promised to Molly. He is basically demon royalty almost, and he so cocky and a first class jerk, but you can see that he is also thoughtful and kind when the time calls for it, despite he denies that he is because of his nature. Since he’s a demon and it’s a great weakness for their kind to show any type of “good” emotion such as love and affection, he behaves like an ass with his peers and with Molly herself. At times, though, his soft side is showing. I loved how he was a complex character with so many layers. You couldn’t tell what he would do next, because he was so trapped in his whirlwind of emotions since he wants to care for Molly but at the same time he wants to preserve his demon “image” because of something that happened in the past to his brother.

I loved the banter between Molly and Tensley and how their relationship evolved in the book. They aren’t the couple that kisses and has sex and says I love you to each other in the middle of the book. No. There was a great push and pull kind of interaction between them that was filled with lust, angst and desire, but it was never predictable to me. On the other hand, every time they had a scene, I was enthralled to read what they would do, what they would say, and it surprised me until the end because these character were raw and real and I couldn’t get enough. Molly and Tensley are such opposites, but what do they say, opposites attract. And I think they can learn a lot of things from each other. I liked that this time, Tensley was an Italian speaking character, but I would love to know more about his heritage since I am Italian myself. On this side, I wanted to compliment the author for her knowledge of Italian. My heart jumped every time Tensley called Molly “ciccia“, because even before he tells her what it means, I knew the meaning. 😛 Only one thing was wrong. There’s a point, specifically at 82% – position 4723, where he tells Molly “Mi sono infatuata di te”. The verb “infatuata” is wrong because the suffix “a” marks it as feminine, while the character who’s talking is masculine, so it would be “infatuato“. Tensley is a cultured man and it’s not too formal to say it, but anyone but a poet wouldn’t say this sentence like this, they would say “Mi sono innamorato di te” or “Sono cotto di te”. But this is just my point of view as a native speaker, the expression is correct besides the wrong suffix. 🙂

 

The story itself was interesting. I read books with demons as the main characters but this one had a curious take on the creatures because the demons, Tensley included, were of a different type when it came to how they lived their life. He, for example, could eat, sleep and do all the things human did, but to keep himself healthy and strong he needed to get intimate with people – whether he had sex or kissed their body or just touched their hand. It’s this way he gets the energy to live. When he and Molly will marry, they can exchange power with each other and heal their partner as well. Much of the plot is still unveiling, so we don’t know all that happens, but what is disclosed until the end of this first book allures me. Like, to say one thing, is there another reason why there’s only a daemon and not many? How they are created in the first place? Why Tensley is the chosen groom for Molly, and not a demon of higher breed? I hope we will get more answers in the following books. I’m already excited and I can’t wait to read more. ❤

RATING: 5/5 stars

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

