Book Review: All Men Fall by C.M. Lally

Hello everybody! First of all, I wish you a Happy Easter. Second of all, today I’ll be reviewing a title I bought on Amazon a couple of months ago by a new author, C.M. Lally. It’s a contemporary romance and it’s a novella, perfect for when you want to read something light but not really long.

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Novella
Publication Year: 2016
Pages: 172 (Kindle)
Part of a series?: No
You can buy it HERE from Amazon.com

Nick is a fallen sports star that everyone has put aside and accused after the biggest mistake of his life that ruined his career forever. He now lives his life quietly, working a job unrelated to his previous career and acting like any other man is age. While he goes to his favorite bar, he often sees a band playing. Jenna is the leader of the band, and she’s a great singer, who happens to date the worst men on earth. Jenna and Nick exchange some glances during her shows until something happens and it brings them together.

Nick is your wounded hero with issues. He was likeable, not the jerky type, but perhaps he talked too much in his head rather than with his words. Jenna is also a likeable female character but I didn’t like how she said she’d break up with her arrogant ex, then she was still with him. I would have liked more strength from her side.

The reason why I gave this rating is simple. The story started off nice, but as I moved along, the characters talked into their heads instead of talking to each other and their story progressed too fast for my taste. I know this was a novella, but each one has a way to develop a relationship and I thought the way Nick and Jenna fell for each other was too abrupt despite we understand that they both had eyes for each other even before they really “meet”. Overall, I also thought it was predictable. The author told what they did from the perspective of both characters, but it seemed more telling than showing and it seemed all in the characters’ heads rather than “real”. But it can surely be improved!

RATING: 3.5/5 stars

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

