Book Review: Muse by Susan Daugherty

34322057“Muse” is the second and last book of the duology “Groupie” by Susan Daugherty, which I reviewed not long ago. This book was published in February and I wanted to see how the story ended, so here I am. 😀

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance
Publication Year: 2017
Pages: 256 (Kindle)
Part of a series?: Yes, Book 2 of 2
You can buy it HERE from Amazon.com

I read “Groupie” two months ago and liked it, although it didn’t satisfy me much because the build up was slow and not much happened. After I finished “Muse”, though, I realized why the story had to go this way and appreciated this series more.

It starts right where it left off. Lexie and Jackson are facing the aftermath of their decisions, and it’s difficult because of their attraction. In “Muse” we see how they come to new conclusions and how they evolve as characters and face their own feelings as well.

In “Groupie” there where several descriptions of PT and to be quite honest, they seemed too much information to me. Not only because I am not expert in the field hence I’d be bored to read about how to do PT (I would buy a book about it if I wanted to know how to do it), I thought that they weren’t needed in the description and they could work here and there but not for most of the book, since Lexie’s character relayed the story day-by-day as if she was writing a diary of some sort. I was thankful in this book the rehabilitation happened but the explanations were kept to a minimum  and many more events in the MC’s lives happened besides the therapy. This was my only issue, because the writing is really good and correct and the characters are both relatable. Lexie is not a naive woman and Jackson not your usual jerk manwhore.

It was nice to see the characters develop. I think they were realistic and their actions possible in real life. I appreciated that their romance built up slowly and reached the usual “bases” like I love you and the sex, when it was the characters’ time to do those things and not out of plot ideas like some other authors do. This is a clean romance book with authentic characters and I’d recommend it to those who want to see the characters face real-life challenges that could happen to anyone and a drama-free story.

RATING: 4.5/5 stars

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

