Book Review: Caged by Alaska Jones

33239498The author gifted me with a copy of her book and here I am. ^_^ ❤
“Caged” is the debut book of author Alaska Jones, which is an alpha protector romance as the subtitle describes. It also falls in the new adult and suspense genre, but we will talk about that later.
Genre: New Adult, Romantic Suspense
Publication Year: 2017
Pages: 192 (Kindle)
Part of a series?: Yes
Buy it HERE from Amazon.com

Jenna wakes up in a bed she doesn’t recognize and realize that she is in the house of a stranger. She remembers that a few days before she was attacked and almost raped by a group of guys who wanted to get at her ex boyfriend. Somebody saved her but is holding her captive in that house, and that person is Cage, a guy with a dark past that is set on killing Jenna’s ex as well.

Jenna, the main female character of this book, is one feisty woman. She is a free spirit and does what she wants, reason why Cage is irked when she wakes up after the thugs have beaten her up. I am not sure up to this day, if I liked her or not. She does have quite a personality, she wasn’t one of those mindless heroines who try to hurt themselves to save the man they love, but she wasn’t “defined” as a character either. It’s like she’s in the middle: at times I said ‘wow, at least she’s a girl who doesn’t let he boss her’ but at other times I felt that she was too yielding at Cage’s controlling demands, and this made me like her less. To this day, I have yet to find a female character who doesn’t let her partner oblige her to every of his desires and doesn’t ignore what she indeed wants. I’ve felt the same way about Cage. I didn’t hate either of them, didn’t find them annoying either, it’s just… in Cage’s case, I found him too controlling. OK, he saved Jenna and took her into his apartment to protect her and don’t let the bad guys do her harm, but when things got more friendly between them and sex happened, he was too imposing on her and she seemed unsure about it. I was frowning because in some moments it felt as if their connection wasn’t authentic, was too rushed. Still, their love story took off late in the book and we didn’t read them gush and be cheesy over each other too much; that is something I am VERY thankful for.

On the story subject, I am a sucker for stories like this. I like romantic suspense and the couple fighting to be together or to be free from somebody who is threatening their happiness and freedom, and here the plot was handled well with no loose ends, but… I don’t know, somehow this lacked the adrenaline rush. This is why it is indeed a romantic suspense book, but it’s more a book about two people with effed up lives who meet by chance and fall in love, and there is nothing bad about this. Like I said, the book ends with no cliffhanger and loose ends, although we may have to wait for the sequel (that will feature another couple) to see how Jenna and Cage are doing and if they could arrive safely where they were headed.

RATING: 4/5 stars

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

