Book Review: A Soul’s Sacrifice by Victoria Flynn

32884310

I was given an ARC copy for an honest review.

I’m sorry for the lack of updates in the last few weeks, but it’s the month of exams at uni and I’m busy! I’m trying not to neglect reading but I am going slow with my TBR list. Next month I’ll try to post more reviews.

Stay Cool! 😀

Genre: New Adult, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Publication Year: 2016
Pages: 242 (Kindle)
Part of a series?: Yes
Buy it HERE from Amazon.com

“A soul’s sacrifice” is the debut novel of author Victoria Flynn, and I must say, I’m impressed. I’m usually a fan of paranormal/urban fantasy, in fact in this book the recipe is the same. We have our heroine, Maya Thibodeau, who is just a normal woman who has just started her internship. After some weird appearances and a homicide attempt, she meets somebody that helps her escape from the monsters that are trying to kill her. Maya will understand that there is more behind her birth than she knew, and lives are at stake.

Like I said, the plot is the same as many urban fantasy novels, but I have never read about vodoo. We haven’t been explained well why Maya has to do what she has to do or other stuff regarding the main male character, Rhys. It isn’t unusual that the story is set in New Orleans and close places, that city has the great potential with all of the stories it bears about magic and whatnot.

About the characters, I’m still unsure about Maya. Sometimes she rambles too much and looks weak, a bit unsure of herself and always doubting everything. While it wouldn’t be good for her to say ‘yes’ all the time, sometimes I would have loved more character from her. Rhys is another interrogation mark as well. He has got the potential to become one great male character, but he is very mysterious and we don’t know much about him. I guess the characters will evolve and show more of their personality in the next books. One interesting character was mama Yansa. She made me think of one of those witches in Disney movies with a halo of mystery around her; a character who knows but doesn’t want to tell. A character that didn’t convince me much, was Angie. We see bits of her friendship with Maya and how she has to save her, but somehow, I didn’t feel the spark between the girls. Like I said earlier, Maya looks unsure and as if she isn’t really convinced she wants to save her friend. We’ll see what happens next.

I am intrigued to read the next installment of this series!

RATING: 4.5/5 stars

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

