Book Review: The Fall of Kass by Kris Hack

26801536I was given this book to give an honest opinion.

The Fall of Kass is the second book in the ascent series and it starts off where The Ascension of Laney ended. We are in the middle of apocalypse and things are uncertain.

Genre: New Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal
Publication Year: 2016
Pages: 240 (Kindle)
Part of a series?: Yes book 2 of 3
Buy it HERE from Amazon.com

Over all, it took me a while to read this book. I liked the first in the series, thought it had great potential, but then I was disappointed when I read this one. The first reason is the writing. I hate to say this, but I do not enjoy much. There were a lot of repetitions instead of using synonyms, and the style wasn’t my favorite because of that main reason. Sure, the writing described the scene and all, but it just didn’t do it for me because I felt the writing superficial and things happened just like that and some were confusing; we never really got more insight into ascent, dark ascent, fallen angels etc. I was… Mostly annoyed while reading, and I don’t like to write reviews like this because paranormal fantasy is one of the genres I love the most. But this book just didn’t do for me. I hoped to get “more” from the story and the characters but I didn’t. The characters are another thing I didn’t enjoy. I had written in the review of The Ascension of Laney how I didn’t like her as a character and how she felt flat and shallow. Heck, she isn’t even like that because the girl has strength and willpower, but somehow, I couldn’t connect with her at all because she was one of those characters that leave you shrugging; not really somebody memorable. Kass had more personality than her but even he felt flat to me. His and Laney’s inner ramblings about what happened and each other made me roll my eyes sometimes. Another thing that irked me was how the best part of the story started around 60% for me. WHY? If the story had been crafted more and get more suspense and less bla bla bla, I probably would have liked it more.

This is why 3 stars. I hate to rate less than 4, but since I need to be honest, I gave you the reasons.

RATING: 3/5 stars

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

