Book Review: Resistance by C.J. Daugherty

17930383Hello guys!
Not long has passed since my last review but here I am ready to write about the fourth book of my new favorite saga, Night School by C.J. Daugherty. I suggest you to search the tag for info about the previous books.

Genre: Young Adult, Suspense, Mystery, Romance
Publication Year: 2014
Pages: 400 (UK version)
Part of a series?: Yes, book 4 of 5

After all the chaos that happened at the end of Fracture, Allie had to runaway until the people around her realized that the best place she can be at, is Cimmeria. The school is not the same as it used to be and the tension and gloomy mood was all over this book but the end is in sight and I wonder how all will wrap up.

When I started this saga, I was OK with the fact that it contained a triangle. Until this book. At this point the whole thing annoyed me to no end and I begged for the author to solve it, which, thankfully for me and for us, she did. But before she could put an ending to this, I had to go through Allie’s annoying mental confusion on who, between Sylvain and Carter, was the guy she loved. When she was with Sylvain and Carter wasn’t there, she was all: “OMG SYLVAIN IS SO HANDSOME AND KIND AND STUFF! I TRUST HIM!” – I may repeat myself like in the review for Fracture, but these silly remarks where in every few pages and I was like, not again, gurl. Infatuation, indeed. Above all when, after saying these things, Allie thought about Carter. You wouldn’t need to think about another guy if your current boy is the one that’s in your heart, right? And, thank you very much, Allie finally realizes her feelings at the end. I’m glad the author didn’t drag the romance any further because it is an important part of the story but of course, resolving the main issue will have the priority I guess.

I wonder how it is going to end. After the shocking death of this book, we can say everyone is alone and protecting those they love in this fight, but nobody is sure of who will win. Yes, the odds are in Nathaniel’s favor, but the enemy usually wins before the very ending and then he loses. Or at least this is a basic plot evolution, I have no idea how the author is going to depict the final battle but I don’t think she will let the evil character win it all, it would be too bad and what would be the lesson in this? That it is true that a man who is about to control the most influential group of Great Britain and that naturally has the control over police, government and all, could win against a couple of professors and teenagers? Oh, this could be indeed true, but also not. Because it’s in the most difficult situations that people like Allie and her friends can find the strength to fight and win despite all odds.

I’m really eager to read the final book of this saga and I am even more after the cliffhanger at the end of this. I am sure we don’t have anything to worry about that either.

RATING: 4/5 stars

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

