K-Drama Review: It’s Okay, that’s Love

its_ok_this_is_love-0001

This week’s drama is “It’s Okay, that’s Love”, something I started way back when it was airing but I never finished until last week.

Ji Hae Soo (Gong Hyo Jin) is a psychiatry student who is currently working at a University Hospital in order to conclude her studies. She is invited to a TV program where thriller writer Jang Jae Yeol (Jo In Sung) is also a guest. The two don’t seem to agree on anything and every time they met casually, something weird happens and they argue. Sooner or later, they will be involved in each other’s lives more than often when Jae Yeol moves in Hae Soo’s house where she lives with Doctor Jo (Sung Dong Il) who is a psychiatrist and a mentor for her, Soo Kwang (Lee Kwang Soo) who works at a bar and has Tourette Syndrome.

I first heard who the actors of this drama would be at the beginning of 2014. I was excited, naturally, because Jo In Sung and Gong Hyo Jin are two of my ever favorites and this was going to be a psychological drama about mental disorders. I started this when it was airing, but after a certain episode I couldn’t move forward. No idea what kept me wondering, I had ups and downs with this drama. Yes, the story is well done and well written. The cast is great too, even Lee Sung Kyung who debuted her acting career in this drama and EXO’s D.O. who is pretty skilled to become an actor 24/7 (check out his performance on “Hello, Monster” as well!). Then, around Episode 12 or so, I started liking this drama again. The last and the first episodes are so good and you can feel the pain and the love between the characters too much. Gong Hyo Jin and Jo In Sung have an amazing chemistry and they often acted as a real couple on-screen, making one wonder if it’s all acting of there’s something real.

Perhaps what blocked me was my mood. Around 2014 I suffered from anxiety more than I do now. I had a lot of panic attacks and the “descriptive” mood of this drama sometimes made it hard for me to focus and watch. The aim of the writer was probably to inform people about mental disorders and show that everyone, more or less, suffers from them. From those with obsessions, hypochondriacs, fears, anything can be solved if you see a good doctor who will help you through this. This was the moral of the story, and I guess he succeeded very well in it even though things seem to develop slowly and you only realize a bit after the beginning what is behind the main characters minds.

Nonetheless, I would suggest this to psychology lovers or anyone who is looking for something “new”. There are many dramas that around 2014-2015 have tried to take a trip down psychology lane, but not all did it the same way. So if you’re looking for explosive chemistry and smart writing with deep meaning, this is for you. And I would also suggest you watch “That Winter, the Wind Blows” by the same writer. IMO one of the best dramas out there with great scenery and acting (Jo In Sung is a bonus).

RATING: 8.5/10

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Kdrama, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

