Book Review: Strange Magic by Michelle Mankin

29739227Hello dear readers, I hope you’re all having a nice Sunday! I just finished reading a book I was offered to read in exchange for an honest review.
This is the first installment of a series, the MAGIC series, by author Michelle Mankin. There are currently two books of the MAGIC series out, and they can be read as a standalone because the couples of the books are different, even though I think it is better to read it from the book I’m going to review now because there are characters and plots that haven’t been wrapped in this book, despite we get a happy ending.This book can be classified as a New Adult, but it is also an Urban Fantasy/Paranormal story with a lot of mythological and magical references.

The protagonists of the story are Thyme Bellerose and Billy Blade, two souls that look different but that have more in common than they think. Without spoiling too much, Thyme is beautiful young woman who lives in the French Quarter of New Orleans. She works in an ice cream shop, Chantelle Glace, and she lives her life creating new tastes of gelato and going out with her boyfriend Shane. She has lived almost her whole life with her mamere Chantelle and wonders why she was abandoned on the steps of her adopted grandma’s house. She is about to turn 21 when something unexpected happens and everything changes. Billy is a Texan 21-year-old that sings to make a living. He became very famous during the course of a few years, and uses his harmonica to charm the audience, even though weird things happen when he does, making him wonder whether he’s going crazy after all the booze and women he’s had to try to forget a brutal accident from his past. Pushed by his manager Arla, Billy decides to spend two weeks in a haunted house in NOLA’s French Quarter because he is going to have a mini concert on the eccentric day of Mardi Gras, and what happens in the house makes him believe he wasn’t really out of his mind like he thought.

strangemagic

I’ve used Shay Mitchell as Thyme and Sam Claflin as Billy, although he is English and not American. IDK, I thought he fit the part but Chace Crawford (who is actually really Texan) was my second choice.

 

I’ll try to keep my review spoiler-free for anybody who wants to read this book, that in my opinion, deserves so much. You not only have the new adult element, two 20 year-olds-something that fall in love and experience a lot together. You also have the magical, the paranormal and the urban fantasy element, which is a plus. Lately I’ve been leaning more towards this genre (although it doesn’t need to have fantasy elements necessarily) because it’s more unpredictable and you can space and create your own characters with their own complex family trees and mythical progeny. This allows you to create a world no one has before and mold it as you wish. Yes, maybe the romantic plot may be used and re-used forever, but that’s what plots are used for, but the environment can be changed to create something never seen or better read before. I believe that is what the author of the book did. She used two common people to create another world made of mythical creatures of ancient Greece that could easily fit in a “real” planet made of mortals. This is why I believe she didn’t resolve the issue with the main evil character and left the history of some others a mystery, because she probably wants to expand it in the next volumes. No idea how many will be released by the way, but I’m sure that they will have success because the story itself was a good read. I will suggest people who love urban fantasy with characters of age to read this series, you won’t regret it.

RATING: 5/5 stars

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review: Strange Magic by Michelle Mankin

  1. Jane says:

    Please do not send me book review any more. Thank you

    Like

    • purplebass says:

      I’m sorry? I do not send book reviews to anybody. Perhaps you’re either in my circle on Google+ or I don’t know and that’s how you get my reviews, I always try to share them publicly and not privately and I’ve NEVER sent a review on my behalf.

      EDIT: I’ve just seen you were an email follower and that’s why you received emails from my blog, but I think you subscribed because honestly, I don’t know you at all nor I have you on my contact list.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Dream Magic by Michelle Mankin – purplebass world – reviews

Leave a Reply

