Book Review: “Lord Bachelor” by Tammy L. Bailey

perf5.000x8.000.indd*I was given this book for an honest review*

This book is the debut novel of contemporary romance author Tammy L. Bailey.

Lord Edmund Rushwood has few weeks left to his birthday to find a wife and keep his title and his fortune. To do things quicker, he goes to the USA to find his future bride, but he never expected to meet Abby Forester, a poor and simple girl who owns a vintage records shop.

This book was obviously inspired by a fairytale and classic of English literature books like Jane Eyre and Pride and Prejudice, heavily mentioned in the story. We have the prince and the humble girl; both have closed hearts for different reasons. This a contemporary romance of healing and evolution, a journey to realise what it’s more important in our lives.


Of course it is a story that uses a lot of cliques, but it keeps itself entertaining for its whole course. The main character, Lord Edmund, was a spoilt man but not too evil. He was very human. The main female protagonist, Abby, was simple and not too shallow like other heroines I have seen on contemporary romances. She was witty like her inspiration Lizzie Bennet, and for a book character, she acted with a lot of realism towards the situations that she lived, making her believable.

The couple is really enjoyable because they are moderate in what they do. Everything was balanced, from the times they confront each other to the laughs and the tears and the sexy moment. I liked that the author didn’t feature much sex on this book, because in my opinion some use that as an excuse to fill the pages, while it should be an intriguing story that should serve that purpose.

The story of “Lord Bachelor” has amused me since the very first page until the last, and I was happy about the cinematic closure Abby and Edmund had. Like I said, I felt everything was carefully planned in advance and it never turned boring despite the reader somehow expects a certain outcome.

I would suggest this book to those who love fairy tales and stories with not too much drama. And oh, those who love Regency Romance books. This is not a RR book properly because it is set in contemporary times, but the 2016 Lord at times really behaves like a 1800′ libertine.

RATING: 5/5 stars

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

