Book Review: Fated Love by Bree McKennedy

28419673 I was given this book in order to write a honest review.

The first thing that attracted me to this book was the synopsis, of course. It promised a rough journey, and this is what I had while reading it. It was like a rollercoaster.

“Fated Love” is the story of Addison Jade, a 15 year old girl who became famous. She is pure, she is innocent, she is the classic teen that was lucky to be successful at a young age, but you know it is never all glitter all that is gold. Addison had abandonment issues towards her parents, and this lead her to live as life as if they were just donor parents to her. Her psychological issues surfaced even more when she met Tabor, a guy who was a couple of years older than her, who also sang. He was the only one who ever made her feel loved, and she got attached very badly to him, to the point that we see Addison have a sort of a climax during the whole book, that culminates in various bad experiences, identities lost, and anxiety.

Addison could be any teenager at the beginning of this book, but moving forward, I saw her as a real “clinical case”. In the closing letter, the author, Bree McKennedy, explained that besides writing books she also helps people with the problems the protagonist of her book goes through. I found her description of the drug addiction and then the consequences of it plus the road to recovery while still needing the drugs in her system, very convincing. This was amplyfied by the abandonment issues she had and the need to feel loved culminating in her having sex with all of the guys she met during her tour and the final “infatuation” for Ray, who represented the paternal figure she has never had and her “safe harbor”.

I was a bit sad that the story ended abruptly, but I feared the worst. I believed Addison would die because of her addiction, and then Tabor would kill himself too – sort of a Romeo and Juliet ending. But then it would be too predictable, so maybe it’s better this way. This book could have a continuation but I think we would fall into “triangle” territory and even more issues for Addison that could be torn between safe and daring. Who knows! The author may rethink about this. 😀RATING: 4.5/5

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

