Book Review: A Rake’s Midnight Kiss by Anna Campbell

16007701.jpg

New romance book this week. I am back to basics, we can say, haha. I bought this book on a stand. I love used books, and this one allured me with its title and setting (although they changed the title in italian). It is written by Australian author Anna Campbell, who wrote many Regency/Georgian romances.

The story takes place in England, 1827. The main male protagonist is of course a libertine, a rake, Sir Richard Harmsworth. He is an aristocrat, but he is the bastard son of the family, and to show society his title is deserved, he wants to steal the family jewel. Genevieve Barrett, the daughter of a country church pastor, is the one who has it. She is an attentive scholar and is studying the jewel, and found interesting things about it.

One night, while Genevieve is alone at home, is visited by a thief who threatens her, but ends up stealing nothing. The woman is scared but thankfully for her, the thief didn’t steal the Harmsworth jewel she is studying. A couple of days after, a wealthy aristocrat named Christoper Evans arrives to her house with the excuse he is an estimator of antiques and medieval history, and he wants to talk about those matters with her father, who writes articles about old things. She is not happy about the visit, because she and the guest seem to argue about everything, and something about his scent his known to her… Where did she smell it?

“A Rake’s Midnight Kiss” is the second book of the Sons of Sins series. Like I said above, I found this book unexpectedly, and they didn’t have the first book before this so I have no idea of what happened before. But it is a standalone book, there are characters named on the first volume but you can read it alone, this is a thing I love about books I found on stands on the street. It had all the elements I like: the rake, the intrigue, the troubles with the parents, the sexy moments… It also felt fast to read, with simple plot twists but enjoyable. It managed to resolve all of the stories in the end, and it came full circle. A must read for everyone who loves Regency romances like me.

RATING: 4/5

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

