Kdrama Review: Lie to Me

lie_31aGood evening!
Today start Easter holidays and I’m delivering a brand new review to you, my dear readers. 🙂 The drama I watched these last few days is from 2011, and it’s “Lie To Me”. It aired on SBS in May – June 2011 and has sixteen episodes. I’ve had this on my ‘to watch’ list for a while, then I decided to start it before other dramas on my list.

Lie to me tells the story of a Ministry of Culture office, Gong Ah Jung, a woman in her thirties that isn’t married, unlike her friends. This is the reason why she lies to one of her old friends that got married with her first love. We all know that lies travel faster than the truth and soon the innocent lie is distorted and many of the protagonist’s friends learn about it. Ah Jung never tells who the groom is, she only says he’s filthy rich, but the gossip girls believe he is  Kang Gi Joon, a hotel manager who is also a perfectionist. The first encounter between the two doesn’t happen in good circumstances: Ah Jung is super drunk and throws up on Gi Joon, that has to take her to the ER because she faints in his arms because of alcohol poisoning. Between the two starts an intricate relationship based on lies that Ah Jung tells, because the woman would like Gi Joon to play her own act of the fake wedding. Who knows, maybe if he accepts to pretend to be married won’t make them intimate…

Let’s start saying I love stories where the main couple has to pretend to be married or boyfriend/girlfriend to protect their secrets and survive, even for the stupidest reasons. Then if you also add a nice humor and a good cast, the thing is more convincing to me. I’ve taken few days to watch this drama, which is rare because I get annoyed easily. Lie to Me is able to capture the audience because it often leads to resolutions that are typical of romantic comedies, but at the same time, they are not boring. It is perfect when you don’t want to think about too much and don’t be stressed, because is a very light drama and there aren’t secondary characters that put themselves in between the leads (truthfully, the leads are the ones who make things harder with each other!).

Yoon Eun Hye is very cute in the role of the single woman who lives alone with her father and that only had one-sided loves. I had never watched one of her dramas, and I think the tragicomic role of Ah Jung is perfect for her. And I love her bags on the show! There is a lot of attraction between her and Kang Ji Hwan, that has a thin voice and eyes that never leave the protagonist. I don’t say I ship them but I admit their kisses where so hot. I can agree with those who said YHE was a good kisser, you can tell from how she is able to grab the main actor during the moments of the effusions. There is a lot of UST (unresolved sexual tension) between these two, and I would love if they acted together in a new drama or movie in the future, even though she was victim of some scandals during 2015 and I have no idea if she will get some proposals before the ending of 2016.

RATING: 8.5/10

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Kdrama, Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

