Book Review: Dracula by Bram Stoker

11257644Hi there! Today I gave my last exam for this session, and this is why I am back on track with the blog. In the future I will try not to make too much time pass between my posts, life permitting.
The book I am going to review today is one of the five I had to read for my English Literature exam. I already reviewed Frankenstein, which can be seen as the direct opposer of Dracula by some critics, if we look at the “monsters” in literature.
The book in the picture is the one I have read.

Everyone has heard about the Count Dracula. Recent books and movies and whatnot were inspired by this tome, but the original remains him. Pale skin, aquiline nose, hairy hands, red lips… He is human, but at the same time he is not. He attracts the young solicitor Jonathan Harker to Transylvania, a region of Caucasus, with the excuse that he wants to buy a new house in England. Harker comes as a representative of the man he works for, to show the Count the documents of his purchase. He soon starts to see that something about the old man is strange: he doesn’t go to bed at night, he doesn’t eat, he seems to take care of his own house and talks to wolves, and most important, his image doesn’t reflect into mirrors. Jonathan is able to escape the castle where the Count wants to keep him, but the it isn’t enough. The menace is able to travel outside of the mountains where he lived, and reach Great Britain. He starts to make new victims, until somebody is able to create a plan to defeat him.

Dracula is the first vampire book after a long series. The vampire is not new in the field, but it has passed through many transformations. Here he is human, almost similar to men and women, but truthfully, he isn’t. Dracula wants to live in the sun, but he can’t. He wants to have food, but he can’t, because he is just the mirror of the man. Dracula is our instincts, our secret passions, our “animal” side. In a moment where Freud’s theories about sexual instincts and psychoanalysis emerged, many people are scared of what they cannot see, which is why they fear Dracula. The Count represents what they are afraid to show the world. In the Victorian Age, you couldn’t show your “private”, you had to keep your countenance. There was censorship and people were scared about mental illnesses they heard on periodicals. By destroying the Count at the end of the book, they push aside that part of them they refuse to acknowledge. Of course, they believe they got rid of it. But it is known that the more you try to run from a trauma, the more it reappears in your life in another way.

RATING: 4/5

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Dracula by Bram Stoker

  1. BaekYeolHana says:

    Wow! Never looked at it that way….👍

    Like

Leave a Reply

