Kdrama Review: Second Time Twenty Years Old

Second_Time_Twenty_Years_Old-p2

Good evening everyone ^^
Here comes a new drama review! Since I have been less busy these days, I could enjoy one of my favorite things in the world more. I talked you about this drama a while ago, when it had just started. Now I am finally done with watching it all after it ended last Saturday.
To refreshen the memory of those who haven’t watched this yet, Twenty Again or Second Time Twenty Years Old is a kdrama where Ha No Ra (Choi Ji Woo), a 38-year-old woman, experiences college for the first time and there she meets her high school friend and producer Cha Hyun Suk (Lee Sang Yoon). But this story isn’t just that, there is much more and that is surprisingly explored in the 16 episodes it is made of.

Possible minor SPOILERS in the review.

The Story: Ha No Ra is 38 years old but wants to enjoy college and other things after she finds out she may die of pancreatic cancer. At her age, she comes with the realization that since she hasn’t too much time left, she needs to fullfil those dreams and wishes that she could not realize because she got pregnant when she was 18 and had to take care of her son Min Soo (Kim Min Jae) and happened to have to marry Kim Woo Chul (Choi Won Young), a man who acted like a father and made No Ra believe all she had to do in her life was take care of the house, her son, and him of course. She lived for years abroad and when she enters university by chance, she meets one of her old friends who teaches there and that had secretly loved her, Cha Hyun Suk. Thanks to his help, the woman will see her values again and realize she had been living in a beautiful lie so far. She will wake up from her dream and decide what she wants to do and finds herself again.

The Cast: I told you last time too, I wasn’t really sure to watch this because of the main leads. Lee Sang Yoon usually plays characters that I am not drawn to, like Park Dong Joo on Angel Eyes last year. He likes to play the good guy, but here he was a good guy with a twist. His character was likeable, smart, and had an irony that made me laugh, which it hadn’t happened for a while. He did a good job until the end and made me like him more compared to before. Same goes for Choi Ji Woo who I think it’s a good actress but I had only seen her last year on Temptation where her character was colder than Ha No Ra is. She was able to make me laugh too and her emotions were not exaggerated. She made her character a bit silly but thoughtful at the same time. Her husband on the drama, Choi Won Young, is an actor I discovered this year thanks to Kill Me, Heal Me because he played Ji Sung’s secretary. Then I saw him on I Remember You (which I previously reviewed) and I must say, I really like him. He played three different roles on 2015 and each had different shades that overturned when the real nature of his character was showed. Here he played a bit of a narcissistic man and a bit impudent, Kim Woo Chul, who later has a catharsis like most double identity characters, and he is born again like Ha No Ra.

The Music: This drama has nice songs that fit well, and I liked how they also put some Kpop classics when there were flashbacks of No Ra and Hyun Suk during their high school years.

Final Comment: Unlike the dramas I watched before, this one developed super slowly. We have the encounter of the main couple, various details being revealed time after time, but the romance is the last thing that happens here. We see several times that the leads are already in love or conflicted by episode 4 or 5. Here they also were, especially Cha Hyun Suk’s character since he had loved No Ra all along those twenty years, but it took time for her to realize the same. The pace was extremely slow like a 50 episodes drama, and probably this is what made me like it. Every thing that happened felt more realistic and with a nice timing. Nothing was rushed, and there was redemption with the ones who did bad things as well. Overall, it was a sweet romantic comedy with lots of humor and life lessons. One thing I learnt from this is that once you lose time, it is the only thing that never comes back to you. But that it doesn’t matter what you like to do, you can do it at any age, just like No Ra here went to college when she was old. You shouldn’t give up your dreams and be influenced by the past and those who don’t believe you can make it. You should be able to move forward to live your life the best you can and be grateful for every day… You never know when it will be your last. Everyone can be saved and start anew.

I Would Recommend This To: RomCom lovers. You will surely love this a lot like I did.

RATING: 9/10

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Kdrama, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

