Book Review: Tutta Colpa di New York by Cassandra Rocca

18779575Hello everybody! Today’s review will be “special” because I will write it in both English and Italian, since this book has only been published in my country and not overseas and I wanted to share what I thought with you. I will write my thoughts in English first, then you will find a review in Italian right after.

“Tutta colpa di New York” [translated: “Let’s blame it on New York” or “All because of New York”], is the first romance novel by italian writer Cassandra Rocca. I once joined one of her giveaways and that was how I discovered this book. I later realized that the library I usually go to had the whole series on display, and I bought it to check it out. This is the first book and deals with Cade and Clover’s story.

 

Clover O’Brian is a normal girl who lives in New York, in a house she inherited from her grandma. She doesn’t have a good relationship with her family because she is abrupt and joyful, and according to her mother, she doesn’t have nice manners. She meets Cade Harrison by chance while she is trying to make some boys of her neighborhood laugh. He is a tall, blond man who is an actor. He is taken aback by Clover’s behavior around him, because unlike the women he has had before, she doesn’t seem to care about his fame and money. It is almost Christmas time and both wish to find love, could it be that they will finally find it?

I found this book very entertaining. Not only because it was like a fable and super fast to read, but also because of the irony and sarcasm of the main female protagonist, which, in my opinion, is similar to a lot of women who have been hurt and closed themselves in order to protect their hearts. A lot of girls can see themselves in her. But then a man like Cade appears in her life and he makes her question if there can really exist a ‘prince charming’ who will love her for who she is. There is not much to say about that. Because when I like something, I tend to be positive. The fact itself that it looked like a sweet fable made it really simple and romantic, a nice and cute read. The characters ended up in my heart and now I also crave for a ‘Cade’ too. Hehe. Only perk, it is probably the length. It is too short for my taste, since I am able to read a book with 1000 pages as well. I wished for a longer story, but I found there is an extra so maybe I will read that.

It is sad this isn’t in English too, because you romance lovers out there would surely love this. ❤

RATING: 4/5

 

“Tutta colpa di New York” è il primo romanzo della scrittrice italiana Cassandra Rocca. Una volta ho partecipato ad un suo giveaway, ed è così che ho scoperto questo libro. Più tardi mi sono accorta che era sempre in esposizione quando andavo alla Feltrinelli, quindi dopo un po’ di tempo l’ho comprato per vedere se mi sarebbe davvero piaciuto. Questo primo libro parla della storia di Cade e Clover.

Clover O’Brian è una ragazza semplice che vive a New York, in una casa che ha ereditato da sua nonna. Non ha una bella relazione con la sua famiglia a causa del suo carattere sbarazzino e onesto, e, secondo sua madre, non ha le buone maniere. Incontra Cade Harrison per caso mentre cerca di far ridere alcuni bambini del suo quartiere. Cade è alto, bello e biondo, ed è un attore famoso. E’ sorpreso di come Clover si comporti davanti a lui, perchè al contrario delle donne che ha conosciuto in passato, non sembra importarle della fama e dei soldi. E’ quasi Natale e entrambi sperano di trovare l’amore; magari ci riusciranno finalmente?

Ho trovato questo libro molto divertente. Non solo perchè era come una favola e molto veloce da leggere, ma anche per l’ironia e il sarcasmo della protagonista femminile. Clover è simile a molte donne che sono state ferite da qualcuno e si sono chiuse in loro stesse per proteggere il loro cuore. Molte ragazze possono immedesimarsi in questa protagonista. Ma poi nella vita di Clover appare un uomo come Cade e le fa chiedere se può davvero esistere un ‘principe azzurro’ che la amerà per com’è. Non c’è molto da dire riguardo questo libro, anche perchè quando qualcosa mi piace, tendo ad essere super positiva. Il fatto che era quasi fiabesco lo ha reso semplice e romantico, una lettura carina e piacevole. I personaggi principali mi sono entrati nel cuore e anche io vorrei un ‘Cade’ adesso. 😀 Una sola cosa forse cambierei; la lunghezza del libro. E’ troppo breve per i miei gusti, dato che sono capace anche di leggere libri lunghi 1000 pagine. Ho scoperto che almeno c’è un extra, quindi forse leggero quello per il momento.

RATING: 4/5 ❤

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Italian, Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

