Book Review: Dark Lover by JR Ward

42899Dang, I totally forgot to post a review for this book, and here I am. This is the first installment of the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series by JR Ward, a saga that follows the lives and deaths of this circle of royal vampires that live in Caldwell, New York. Each book follows a specific couple and characters, but the story itself moves along so the books need to be read in order.

This volume opens up with the future king of the Brotherhood, Wrath, and his future queen Elizabeth “Beth” Randall. The two meet by chance because Beth is the half blood daughter of one of the brothers. Her father asks Wrath to help her during her transition into a vampire, since she doesn’t know of his existence nor what fate is waiting for her.

As expected, Wrath and Beth will grow closer soon and have a lot of sizzling moments. They will also help each other through their hardships and problems the brotherhood will have to face.

You say, another vampire story? Well, this book was actually published in 2005, which is before “Twilight”. It was released when vampire stories weren’t super hot yet, and it had a good success. There are 13 books so far, and I guess until the writer wants to drag the story, they will continue to be published.

Unlike other vampire romances, this one is truly mature. The protagonist, Beth, is 25 years old and is a tough woman despite society only tries to put her down as if she was an object. Is this trait that makes the vampire Wrath fall in love with her, she is the only woman who dares to talk to him about what she doesn’t like and dares to act like she feels like, without needing the support of a man. The heroine knows what she wants and does her best to achieve it.

I have a mixed opinion about this. Did I love it? Did I hate it? Did I liked it but I am unsure? Probably the last one is the true. I bought this book because I saw this series being promoted a lot in books clubs I go to, and I was curious to check it out since the majority of reviewers thought this was a big thing. Perhaps I was too anxious because of real life, but I wasn’t able to completely enjoy this book.

Writing wise, it was good. It wasn’t repetitive for what I recall, perhaps I only hated it that the couple had sex in a big part of the plot but it wasn’t the center of everything like on some other books I won’t mention. I realize this is the first book of a series and this is why the story is slowly moving, but perhaps my delusion after reading this, is that I probably wanted more. In Italian this book is called “The Awakening” because it puts the pieces to what the story will evolve to, and probably this is why it’s slow vs fast? Wrath and Beth’s story starts with a fuck, and then it is like everything changes from this to that. Perhaps I am an annoying woman because I like long development even after a kiss between the couple I like, I have no idea how to define it, but I wasn’t really enamored with the characters nor found their story interesting too much. The rest, that is the whole vampire thing around them and the war that is coming in their world, that was better to me and I was curious, but still, it didn’t go past a limit where I would excitedly tell myself “Oh! I found a new book series I would stay up until 3am to read”. Nope, totally nope. I enjoyed this, but not enough. This is the reason why I want to read the second book too, this way I may be able to give a clearer opinion about this series.

RATING: 3.5/4

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review: Dark Lover by JR Ward

  1. RedHeadedBookLover says:

    This book sounds interesting so I am going to have to check it out! Plus I am a sucker for a vampire book! Thank you for writing such an awesome review and having such an incredible blog (which I love!)!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

