Book Review – Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern

love-rosieWow, it has been long since the last time. How is everyone? Me, I have done quite a bit during these days where I didn’t update. Some of the books I have started are already in the process of being finished, but I don’t know when. Perhaps they are not intriguing too much or I am too stressed to focus. Anyway, among my shelf, I could finish “Love Rosie” by Cecelia Ahern. This is not the original title, that is “Where Rainbow End”, but they changed because they made a movie adaptation of the book last year, and they called it like that. It is a romantic volume about love, friendship, family, that has an usual way of storytelling. It does, infact, tell through emails, chat rooms, letters and stuff like that. I was a bit skeptical when I found out that this book was like that. In the past I loved epistolary novels, but after reading a lot of different material, I was not used to this kind of story anymore. I was glad that despite this I could successfully finish this. Minor spoilers in the review.

“Love, Rosie” is the story of Rosie Dunne and Alex Stewart, who live in Dublin, Ireland. The time is not specified but I believe their story starts in the 90’s – 2000’s because their chat conversations make me think of MSN Messenger, that was alive until two years ago or so. These two have known each other since they were children and grew up together to be best friends for life, but they realize that there may be more than just friendship between them. Their problem is that they don’t want to reveal their true feelings not to destroy their bond. If their story fails, their relationship won’t be like before.

Alex and Rosie continue being friends and hide their love for each other thanks to many obstacles their lives offer to them. Around 18, Rosie gets pregnant of a guy she hates and Alex has to leave for Boston with his parents. Being far helps them kid themselves that they are okay with this, but whenever a new lover appears, jealousies arise and they doubt each other’s frienship feelings. I liked this about the book but not completely. On a side, it was good that the writer showed that life never goes like we imagine and many times the people we love can’t be with us like we would like. But on another side, I was annoyed that the couple gets to find each other FINALLY only at the very end. It is indeed more realistic than many novels I have read, but I don’t know! Anyway, I liked it more than hated this particular.

Even through a piece of paper, computer, etc, the emotions of the characters were palpable and never boring. Minor characters were also given the chance to say their opinion about the various things that were happening and made everything super fluid. Definitely a book I would suggest but do not watch the movie adaptation before you finish because they changed some things.

RATING: 5/5 stars

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

