Book Review – SIX Days by Randileigh Kennedy

23317182*I was given this book for an honest review*

Six Days is the first book of the “Six” series. It is a contemporary romance book about Adelaide “Addie”, a twenty-something woman who has a difficult past and has seen all of the people she loved, leave her. After her boyfriend leaves her too, uncaring, Addie decides to move away from her place and go somewhere else, and she ends up in Nevada. Here she meets Mallory, a woman about her age who needs help with her bakery. She will open a new world to Addie, who will discovery she is able to do things she didn’t think she could do before. She will also meet new friends with whom she will create strong relationships, and maybe who knows, she also meets her soul mate… 😉

This book was short but cute. It has a certain glamour because it looks like one of those american comedies where there is so much happening within a few days’ time. The main protagonist is a good example of somebody who chooses to go on despite her life hasn’t given her much happy memories, and by doing this, she finds real friends and also love. Unlike some women from other books who are more complicated, she is mature and doesn’t lose herself too much into her thoughts. Her philosophy, on the other hand, is saying ‘yes’.

The plot reminded me of one of those cute romantic comedies with its simple yet realistic situations. The only perk was that even though I liked the characters a lot and there wasn’t anybody annoying nor evil, I found some of them a bit superficial… I don’t know, I would have wanted more ‘dimension’ and depth, more… character, so to speak. I liked the protagonist and all the other friends, but somehow I felt them a bit flat. I wanted more shades of their personality, and more of Addie’s story with the guy she likes. The end felt abrupt. Ok that the situation was sort of resolved, but I wanted to know more… Guess I’ll have to read the other two books to find out what happens, hehe.

Besides all of this, I enjoyed the book and I recommend this to those who love simple romantic stories with not so much drama.

RATING: 3.5 stars

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review – SIX Days by Randileigh Kennedy

  1. That is a cute book cover.

    Like

Leave a Reply

