Book Review: Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

9889New York, 40’s. The world is in time of WWII, but in America things are going differently since it is not a place touched by the war. Paul Varjak is a writer who has not published anything yet, and he dreams to break into the publishing industry. One day a strange woman, Holiday “Holly” Golightly, goes to live in his building. He is soon attracted by her character: she is classy despite she is only nineteen, and she loves to give parties and go out with older men. Paul starts getting interested with what she does, and gets to know more details about her after they start talking casually. But appearances can be deceiving. I watched the movie adaptation of this book way before reading it. I like Audrey Hepburn’s movies, and this is a nice one and has a different (and happier) ending than the book. The book is more abrupt and cruel in some regard, and there are a lot of scenes that are missing on the movie.

Generally, I found this easy to read. There are no chapters and the writing goes smoothly from Paul’s point of view. But I found him a little annoying and blinded by the attraction he felt toward Holly, the unattainable girl who is also a bit ego. Paul is the typical humble man. He dreams to become somebody and realize his dreams, like any other. He reminded me a lot of one of the characters I found more annoying on TV, and this is a point that made him despise him more. In the end I like that he didn’t get the girl, who was too much of a money chaser to remain with him and grow up and tell herself “Stop with this. I should not chase something that I may never find”, but I am aware is not in her blood to say this. Because Holly is a determined woman who wants to live a great life and to do this, she needs a many who is able to satisfy all of her whims. She takes lightly on love, according to the wallet of the man in question. Paul was the same, but he is more truthful to his feelings. But he is not the type to act in reality and get what he wants, because he could have gotten Holly! He remained around her and sort of saw her like a queen at times, and like a normal woman in other occasions, and he didn’t even try once to confess what he felt or tried to charm her. He is definitely not a man of action, he’d rather write things than act upon his thoughts.

The way this book was written reminded me a bit of “The Great Gatsby”, that I have read one month ago. Both deal with two different periods, 20’s and 40’s. These ages are different but the kind of people living these moments are very similar: both Paul and Jay Gatsby are men in love with a woman that they could easily court, but they not dare to chase because of money. They believe that the woman won’t fall if they are not filthy rich, and this I am aware too because the females characters of these two books are too unsure about their own life and they need security, which is cash. They are fragile and they cannot live solely on love, they would be destroyed before they can’t wait for the men to live up to their big expectations. Their selfishness goes beyond love and acceptance, and this trait cannot be undone in a short span of time, I am afraid. If Holly didn’t leave for South America or if Jay Gatsby hadn’t died, maybe they could have been happy. In a way, Holly’s flee could be a sort of ‘romantic’ act in order to save Paul and don’t let him tangled up in her scandal. Of this we would never be fully sure.

RATING: 3/5

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

