The Secret Series #1 & #2 by Jessica Sorensen

15717876Hello!!! It is grey and wet outside, and I thought it was a good moment to fill the time writing a review. The books I have been reading recently, are from the “Secret” series by Jessica Sorensen. They belong to the New Adult genre, which deals with realistic stories with characters who are over 18 years old as the main protagonists and sexual scenes included. In fact this is a genre suited for 17+ audience. This is the first book I read of this genre, and I feared I wouldn’t like it after I bought it just because I took it out of curiosity, but I was pleased to find out that this suits me.

This series is made of a seven books, though two or three are short stories that don’t count as a real book. I am currently reading the #3 novel and I decided to review the first two in a batch because otherwise I will forget my feelings if I let more time pass. Haha!

Let’s start with Book #1, The Secret of Ella and Micha.

Ella Daniels is a young woman who is living in Las Vegas to attend University. She loves to draw, and many other things, but she hides her true nature in front of her new friends, including her roommate Lila Summers. When summer starts and Ella goes back to her hometown, Star Grove, she fears that she will have to face what made her run away from that place a lot of months before. She will have to see her father, and her friends, that she left without a word suddenly. Above all, she will probably see Micha Scott, her best friend and neighbor that she left behind. During her months in college, Ella built a façade that she is afraid might break, and it surely will, since Micha doesn’t want to lose her again and wants to open up about his feelings.

The Secret of Ella and Micha” is a powerful book with a lot of emotional moments. The protagonist, Ella, is a girl who has to face many hardships like feeling guilty, don’t trust people, censor her feelings. She is running away from her life and wants to start anew, but she needs to face her past before she can let it go. I must admit, at times I hated Ella. She was stubborn and she didn’t make decisions that I would support, but I can understand her because at times I am also like her. I felt a lot of myself into her, and somehow, I tried to reason about my own situation as well. Her fear is real, and you can taste it.

Meanwhile, Micha, the main male protagonist, is the guy every girl would want as their boyfriend. Caring, manly, protective, determined. He cares for Ella like no other, and he wants to shield her from her world but at the same time, he wants to know what is going on in her head and why she can’t let him in. He works hard to gain Ella’s trust, but he has a bad way to deal with problems that is drinking. He is very honest and always tries a way to realize what he dreamed.

This first book was fast, filled with problems, but it didn’t excite me as I hoped to. I predicted many of the things that happened, was surprised a few times but it was a normal kind of excitement. This is why, after I finished this, I waited a few days before starting the second book. In my opinion these two had to be put together, because if one reads Book #1 and doesn’t continue, it will feel unsatisfied. Sure, the book has a happy ending and it can be read alone, but I got the feeling that there was something missing. Probably more action, I don’t know. But this was totally present in Book #2.

16055475The second book, “The Forever of Ella and Micha“, starts off where the other one ended. Ella and Micha have to face the fact that they will have to live separately for a while, due to Micha’s tour with his band and Ella’s return to University in Nevada. She starts getting more and more anxious and instead of becoming happier, she is losing herself and she starts to lie that she is doing well. She doesn’t say how she feels to Micha, and neither to her best friend Lila. Micha himself has some unresolved issues with his father, and she believes that if he tells his girlfriend, he will worry her with more and more problems. But this is wrong. In a relationship, if there is no talking, it is superficial. In fact Ella and Micha keep on discussing until she makes a decision that she thinks is best for them both.

Unlike Book #1, this one was filled with more moments I liked. The fact that Ella and Micha were in different cities made it all more unpredictable and I liked when they met again because a lot had passed since their last time. The only thing that probably annoyed me (but annoyed is a big word), is that every time they saw each other, despite they were broken up, they had sex. This is not really a nuisance, to be honest. Because have sex was a way for both to escape from their problems, and they are not the first or the last people on this planet who do so. I was probably fed up of sex scenes because I had read “Bared to You” by Sylvia Day recently, and that is FILLED by sex. Generally, I prefer when there is the right amount of it. I would rather have a generous amount of sexual tension rather than make out after a make out, but it is okay, because this book wasn’t built solely on that. This series has substance, and on the psychological aspect I felt even closer to Ella than I did on the first book. But it still isn’t over! After the ending (still happy and open), I wonder what will happen with these two.

RATING: 4/5 stars

 

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

