Just started watching: Sorry, I Love You

im-sorry-i-love-youThis week I have started a new kdrama, “I’m Sorry, I Love You”. This is one of the oldest hit dramas and one of the first that made So Ji Sub very famous. I wanted to watch it last year, but due to some things I had to give it up and I haven’t remembered about it until I watched the kdrama Falling For Innocence and found out the main lead, Jung Kyung Ho, is also in this. Ironic, right? Dehehe. So when I decided to start it, it was both for him and naturally, SJS, who is one of my favorite actors.

I knew this story would be tragic even before I started watching. So Ji Sub plays the part of Choi Moo Hyuk, a homeless man who lives in Australia since he was adopted a lot of years later. He’s had a hard childhood. Not only he was abused, he was also abandoned by his foster family. Since then, he has lived daily and has committed several crimes to survive. His life becomes more bittersweet when his girlfriend decides to get married with an older man who, unlike him, is filthy rich. Here plays the “wrong place, wrong time” fate and Moo Hyuk is involved in an accident that will turn his life around.

The female protagonist of this story is Song Eun Chae (Im Soo Jung), a young woman who is the secretary/program coordinator of a famous star called Choi Yoon, who is played by Jung Kyung Ho. She is the typical good and naive female drama girl. She secretely loves the guy she works for, and she can’t get over him considering he treats her well and has a contradicting behavior with her. This makes Eun Chae distance herself from him to avoid him from discovering this truth, and so after a CF shooting in Australia, she decides to leave the country alone. This will make her have a bad day, but thankfully for her, she is saved by Moo Hyuk, probably because she is also Korean like him. But he then disappears until his and Eun Chae’s destiny will intervine again back in their home country.

Honestly after watching two episodes, I think everyone is good at their role. SJS is always sublime, and he is at his best when he plays weird characters with a depressed expression on their faces. I am not sure yet on the chemistry between him and the main female lead. Maybe I am influenced by the presence of JKH here, but I think he and her make a better couple than the main leads. I don’t know, maybe it’s because even though SJS is still less than 30 years old here, he looks older and she looks too young for him… She hasn’t showed her colors yet, and it makes it harder for me to check their chemistry only based by a few scenes they have had. It is possible I will have a second lead syndrome in this drama? Who knows.

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D
This entry was posted in Kdrama, Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just started watching: Sorry, I Love You

  1. AidaZen says:

    I watched Sorry I love You for the first time a few weeks ago. I still get goosebumps remembering the whole journey. I’d love to know what you think about it when you finally finish. For me, So Ji Sub was indeed sublime and makes me catch my breath each time he’s on screen! I liked the drama, A LOT. I checked it out for SJS but I’m glad it was also the first time I got to see Jung Kyung Ho~!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • purplebass says:

      This drama is very unique so far, and I will write a review about it once I am done ^^ I’m sure a bit anxious because I am aware it has a tragic ending, but I don’t know to which degree, haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

